top of page
  • republicofphillip

Interview with Presidential Candidate Iyan Seeker (BBB)

3 April 2023

What would you say is the main goal of your campaign?

Thank you for your amazing question, but my first goal as President of Phillip would be to make Phillip the greatest country in the world. We will truly prosper, we will be an economic powerhouse, we will have the greatest military in the world, and we will conquer the United States. 


How do you plan on doing those things?

By doing them. 


Why do you want to be President of Phillip? 

Because I want to improve the lives of our citizens and I want… I believe in the potential of this great nation and I think we could be even better, we could be the best ever. Full stop.


What’s the first thing you’ll do as President?

I’ll probably… just smile and be really happy, and then I probably wouldn’t do something… anything immediately after becoming President. I’d… there’s no, like, big bills or, like, actions that I wanna immediately when I become President, but I just overall, like, wanna regulate… like make sure that the National Assembly isn’t up to any ‘funny business’ and … ‘cause the… that whole ‘removing people's freedom of religion’ is pretty crazy and I kinda don’t want stuff like that to happen anymore.


How do you think President Renny’s term has gone?

I think President Renny has… I think he’s done a pretty good job… his… I think he… his passing of the ‘Church of Phillip Protection Bill’ was pretty crazy, ‘cause, like I said before, he took away people’s freedom of religion. 


Do you think you or any of the other candidates have a chance at topping what President Renny has accomplished?

Yes, I think… I… the entire roster for this year’s election is just some top notch, like, amazing politicians. I think they all have great potential to make this country great.


Do you think that President Renny has become corrupt nearing the end of his term?

I believe he has. I think his… I think he’s favoring the Church of Phillip over the future of this country. I think he prefers… the control of the… I-I don’t think he’s really respecting the separation of church and state. Otherwise… otherwise he’s kinda okay. 


In late February, you were forced to give up your third seat in the National Assembly. Do you think it was a good decision to limit the power that you had in the Assembly or do you wish it never happened?

I’m gonna tell you, in the moment it made me sad. ‘Cause that - in the moment I was just kinda mad that I lost my seat and I could no longer represent my people. But, I still … I kept going and in the long run I believe that was a good idea, because no person should hold almost a complete… should hold that many seats. Because, back then… around that time there was like… there… there’s more seats now but back then there was, like, seven, right? Back then there were like seven seats which meant that me and one other person could completely control the… the votes of the National Assembly, which means like we had so much power. So, that’s not a good idea. 


What do you think has been Phillip’s best moment so far?

I think… I think one of my favorite moments was the first movie filmed on Church… in the Church of Phillip being ‘Convivium’, President Renny’s… President Renny’s Latin Forum… President Renny’s submission into the Latin Forum. I thought that was a great moment and also making… making the ‘Invasion of Traqueto’ an official holiday. I really… I very much enjoyed that.


Do you think that the Mint has done a good job so far?

Considering that none of us have money yet, or like have physical money yet or have been… it hasn’t been distributed yet, I don’t believe they’ve been doing a good job, ‘cause there one job has not happened yet. 


How do you feel about the power that the Mint and the Jolly Parliament has in Phillip’s economy?

I… the mint and the Jolly Parliament, sorry. I think they… they do have some sizable power and I think it’s been good. We’ve been trying to make some measures to regulate their power. But you know, we wanna keep it in checks and balances. We don’t wanna completely take away what they can do ‘cause it’s important, that they can do what they gotta do. I want the economy… I would the economy to flow, at least more than it is because has money, like I said. People should have money. 


Do you think that being a member of the now defunct PNF has affected your Presidential candidacy?

Yes, I do, because the Phillip National Front was pretty villainized in its day and I feel like people are judging me because I joined that and I look back and I shouldn’t have been so much of a follower. I shouldn’t have just done everything Cooper Norfolk told me to and I… I am happy with myself that I have.. I’m becoming… I have become much more independent and I do what I believe is right.


What do you think of your fellow candidates?

They’re all very good people, especially Madison Marcos, because she is my Vice President and I wish her well. I will be lording it over her that she did not win President, even though I don’t think she cares very much. But I… everyone else, Owen… Owen is a very cool guy, Owen Itzen. Owen Itzen is a very good guy, I like him. Riley Cook… Riley, Riley, I don’t think he’ll do a good job. Just personally, I don’t mean to be a mud-slinger or anything but I don’t think he’s a good idea. Otherwise, everyone’s pretty cool. 


What are your thoughts on the Itzen vs. Von controversy that occurred in February?

I… I think what I… what Owen did was very corrupt in that he did not let Reed start his business just because he didn’t vote for what he wanted. I think corruption has no place in Phillip. This is supposed to be a utopia here and corruption, no. What Mr. Itzen did is very bad and I hope he improves. 


How do you feel about the recent territorial expansions of Phillip and the upcoming regional restructuring?

The expansion of Phillip is great. Like I said, I want to… I want this country to be great, the best in the world and expansion becoming bigger is a good idea for that. We need more places for people to live, but we also need more people too. Anyway, more land equals good and the ‘Regional Restructuring Act’… I don’t have any big opinions-any strong opinions on it, pretty neutral. I think it might make it a bit more… a bit easier to understand what’s going on with the regions and, like, districts and stuff. Just clean up our system.


What do you think about the recent two party mergers that took place?

Party mergers? I, when I… when this… nation started a few months ago, I liked that there was so many… that there was so many parties and that we didn’t have just two parties that were always what voted… that any party had the possibility of having their… of having one of their members a candidate for President. I thought that was great, so it’s okay that parties are merging, as long as we don’t get to the American politics way where there’s only two parties that ever actually have a chance of having a President come out of them, so yeah.


How do you feel about the recent Church of Phillip Bill? Do you support freedom of religion within Phillip?

I 100% support freedom of religion. My… my family, actually, is not Church of Phillip so they woulda been forced to convert if that… that bill wasn’t overturned later on. So, I very much believe in freedom of religion and I just can’t believe they pulled a fast one on us like this.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why I Deserve More Seats on the National Assembly

By Iyan Seeker This post has been a long time coming. On the 13th of January, I was elected to the national assembly seat of the territories, giving me a third seat in addition to the districts of Tar

bottom of page